Workers’ Compensation Premiums to Increase Even Further
Officials predict a 6.9% workers’ compensation premium increase beginning January 1, 2014.
In September 2013, workers’ compensation officials predicted a 4% increase. Although a 6.9% jump was officially announced, premiums could climb even higher. Overall, workers’ compensation premiums in California have increased 35% in the last four years.
Like any other insurance plan, employers pay premiums into the system so that injured workers may obtain funds when they file a claim. Your California workers’ compensation claim begins with notice and filing.
Within 14 days of the incident, you must notify your supervisor about your workplace injury. Be prepared to provide details about the injury, including a timeline, witnesses and details about your injury.
Some workers are not injured in a trauma incident, such as a slip-and-fall. Rather, these workers fall victim to an occupational disease, such as carpal tunnel syndrome or some other repetitive stress disorder. As soon as your doctor says that your injury was caused at work, notify your supervisor.
Filing a claim
Within one day of your claim, your medical bills should be covered up to $10,000, regardless of whether your claim is upheld or denied. Generally, for the first 30 days following your claim, you must see the doctor assigned by your employer.
At the initial hearing before a hearing officer, your claim may be accepted or rejected or delayed. There is a good chance of either rejection or delay. In either instance, you have the opportunity to appeal. Be sure you contact an Orange County workers’ compensation attorney to preserve any rights that you may have.
At The Tous Law Group, our attorneys have decades of experience in workers’ compensation cases. Call today for your free consultation.